Frequently Asked Questions

Here we have summarized the most important points for you.

Monthly Schedule

Where can I find out what is being taught when during the current month?

Here we publish our monthly training schedule at the beginning of each month.


(Click on the question mark to see details)

Fundamentals (Adults)
What is the Jiu-Jitsu Fundamentals program at Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich and how is it structured?

Our Fundamentals program is based on the Gracie University combatives. These include 36 techniques, all of which are used both in self-defense and in everyday jiu-jitsu training (and, of course, also in sports Jiu-Jitsu). We have extended the 36 lessons with a few techniques we find relevant for self-defense, and structured them into 23 classes, As a rule, we teach one standing and one ground fighting technique per class.

(Click on the question mark above to see details)

Advanced (Adults)

What is the Jiu-Jitsu Advanced program at Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich and how is it structured?

Our advanced program is based on the Gracie University Master Cycle classes. These include a variety of techniques for both self-defense and sports Jiu-Jitsu. Often these are variations of techniques from the Fundamentals or an advanced version thereof. However, some classes also teach entirely new techniques. White belts are allowed to attend our advanced classes, but we recommend to begin only after the first or second stripe on the student's white belt, as the instructors will not cover fundamental principles or answer questions in that regard here.

(Click on the question mark above to see details)

Jr. Fundamentals (Kids)

What is the Jiu-Jitsu Jr. Fundamentals program at Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich and how is it structured?

Our Jr. Fundamentals program is based on the Gracie University Jr. Combatives and is designed specifically for children. It comprises 33 techniques and largely corresponds to the Fundamentals for adults in terms of content, but is taught in a child-friendly manner, e.g. with the help of the Gracie Games.

(Click on the question mark above to see details)

Academy Rules

What is the Academy doing to make training as safe as possible and to offer everyone a pleasant experience?

Jiu-Jitsu is physically and mentally demanding. Although, as with any physical activity, injuries can never be completely ruled out, we do everything to minimize that risk. We have put together a number of Academy rules that must be followed without exception. Should anyone have questions concerning our rules, all instructors are available to answer them.

(Click on the question mark above to see details)

Rules of Engagement for Kids

What are the Rules of Engagement for Jiu-Jitsu for Kids at our Academy?

With great power comes great responsibility. Jiu-Jitsu can give us all the ability to defend ourselves against attackers of all sizes and strength. In order to ensure that these skills are never abused, we also teach appropriate basic rules of conduct that must be observed inside and outside the Academy. This applies to adults as well as to our children.

(Click on the question mark above to see details)

Belts

What do the belts stand for, and what are the criteria for promotion? Do I have to beat all lower belts in randori or win tournaments?

The belts stand primarily for technical skills and knowledge of Jiu-Jitsu. We use the rough guidelines of the IBJJF (International Brazilian Jitu-Jitsu Federation) regarding time that should be spent at a certain degree/belt.

 

We also use an attendance check. On one hand, this shows the instructors who is training regularly,  on the other hand, it should also serve as motivation for the Jiu-Jiteiros to monitor their own progress. Within every belt from white to brown there are three so-called "stripes" showing progress, as it may take a few years of training to advance to the next higher belt.

 

The head instructors ultimately decide all promotions. The attendance check is only one aspect, since the most important criteria are the technical skills shown on the mat. You do not have to win tournaments, but you must show your skills in daily randori at the Academy.

 

Since, in addition to technique, size, weight and age also play a role in a direct comparison, it is not a question of dominating every lower belt in sparring. If a fifty-year-old brown belt weighing seventy kilos can defend him- or herself well against a twenty-year-old blue belt weighing a hundred kilos, that is a good indication of a high technical level. "Leave your ego at the door" holds true for us. Click on the question mark above to get the answer directly from the source - Helio Gracie himself. Just turn on the subtitles.

GT&C

Are there general terms and conditions (GT&C) at the Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich?

Yes, the General Terms and Conditions are part of the membership contract and are posted in the Academy. The General Terms and Conditions are also available online or, on request, in paper form.

(Click on the question mark above to see details)

Owner: Daniel Lehmann, Limmattalstrasse 342, 8049 Zürich, Switzerland

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Youtube

©2020 Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Hier haben wir die wichtigsten Punkte für Euch zusammengefasst.

Monatsplan

Wo kann ich herausfinden was im laufenden Monat wann unterrichtet wird?

Wir veröffentlichen den monatlichen Traningsplan zu Beginn des jeweiligen Monats hier unter diesem FAQ-Punkt.

(Klick auf das Fragezeichen um Details zu sehen)

Fundamentals (Erwachsene)

Was ist das Jiu-Jitsu Fundamentals-Programm bei der Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich und wie ist es aufgebaut?

Unser Fundamentals-Programm beruht auf den Combatives der Gracie University. Diese umfassen 36 Techniken die alle sowohl in der Selbstverteidigung als auch im alltäglichen Jiu-Jitsu-Training Anwendung finden (und natürlich auch im Sport-Jiu-Jitsu). Wir haben die 36 Lektionen um ein paar für uns in der Selbstverteidigung relevante Techniken erweitert und in 23 Klassen zusammengefasst. Pro Klasse unterrichten wir als Grundsatz jeweils eine Technik im Stand und eine am Boden.

(Klick auf das Fragezeichen oben um Details zu sehen)

Advanced (Erwachsene)

Was ist das Jiu-Jitsu Advanced-Programm bei der Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich und wie ist es aufgebaut?

Unser Advanced-Programm beruht auf den Master-Cycle-Klassen der Gracie University. Diese umfassen eine Vielzahl von Techniken sowohl für die Selbstverteidigung als auch das Sport Jiu-Jitsu. Oft handelt es sich um  Variationen von Techniken aus den Fundamentals oder eine Weiterentwicklung davon. Manche Klassen vermitteln aber auch gänzlich Neues. Die Advanced-Klassen können bereits ab Weissgurt besucht werden, es ist aber von Vorteil damit erst nach dem ersten oder zweiten Stripe auf dem Weissgurt zu beginnen, da die Instruktoren hier nicht auf Fragen zu den Fundamentals eingehen können.


(Klick auf das Fragezeichen oben um Details zu sehen)

Jr. Fundamentals (Kinder)

Was ist das Jiu-Jitsu Jr. Fundamentals-Programm bei der Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich und wie ist es aufgebaut?

Unser Jr. Fundamentals-Programm beruht auf den Jr. Combatives der Gracie University die speziell für Kinder gedacht sind. Diese umfassen 33 Techniken und entsprechen vom Inhalt her weitgehend den Fundamentals für Erwachsene, werden jedoch kindergerecht vermittelt, u.a. mit Hilfe der Gracie Games.

(Klick auf das Fragezeichen oben um Details zu sehen)

Academy-Regeln

Was tut die Academy, um das Training möglichst sicher zu gestalten und allen eine angenehme Trainingserfahrung zu bieten?

Jiu-Jitsu ist ein physisch und mental anspruchsvolles Training. Obwohl man, wie bei jeder körperlichen Betätigung, Verletzungen nie ganz ausschliessen kann, tun wir alles um das Risiko auf das Minimum zu reduzieren. Dazu haben wir eine Reihe von Academy-Regeln zusammengestellt die ohne Ausnahme einzuhalten sind. Sollte es dazu einmal eine Frage geben, stehen alle Instruktoren jederzeit zu einem Gespräch zur Verfügung.

Im Moment sind diese Regeln nur in Englisch erhältlich. Bei Fragen, bitte einen Instruktor kontaktieren.

(Klick auf das Fragezeichen oben um Details zu sehen)

Rules of Engagement/Anwendungsregeln für Kinder

Was sind die Anwendungsregeln fürs Jiu-Jitsu (Rules of Engagement) für die Kinder in unserer Academy?

Mit grosser Macht kommt grosse Verantwortung. Jiu-Jitsu kann uns allen die Fähigkeit verleihen, sich gegen Angreifer jeder Grösse und Kraft zu verteidigen. Um sicherzustellen, dass diese Fähigkeiten nie missbraucht werden, vermitteln wir auch entsprechende Verhaltens-Grundregeln die in- und ausserhalb der Academy einzuhalten sind. Dies gilt für Erwachsene und ebenso für unsere Kids.

(Klick auf das Fragezeichen oben um Details zu sehen)

Gürtel/Belts

Wofür stehen die Gürtel und nach welchen Gesichtspunkten werde ich befördert? Muss ich dazu alle niedrigeren Grade im Randori schlagen oder Turniere gewinnen?

Die Gürtel (Belts) stehen in erster Linie für technische Fähigkeiten und Wissen. Wir verwenden die groben Richtlinien der IBJJF (International Brazilian Jitu-Jitsu Federation) in Hinsicht auf Zeit die einem bestimmten Grad/Gürtel verbracht werden sollte.


Zusätzlich benützen wir eine Trainingskontrolle. Diese zeigt den Instruktoren einerseits wer regelmässig trainiert, soll auf der anderen Seite aber auch den Jiu-Jiteiros als Motivation dienen und den eigenen Fortschritt verfolgen. In jedem Grad von Weiss bis Braun gibt es als Fortschrittsmesser drei sogenannte "Stripes", da es manchmal einige Jahre Training in Anspruch nehmen kann, um zum nächsthöheren Gürtelgrad aufzusteigen.


Die Head-Instruktoren entscheiden schlussendlich über alle Beförderungen. Die Trainingskontrolle ist dabei nur ein Gesichtspunkt, denn am wichtigsten sind die technischen Fähigkeiten auf der Matte. Turniere müsst Ihr bei uns dazu keine gewinnen, jedoch Euer Können im täglichen Randori bei uns in der Academy zeigen.


Da neben der Technik aber auch Grösse, Gewicht und Alter im direkten Vergleich eine Rolle spielen, geht es also nicht darum, jeden tieferen "Belt" im Sparring zu dominieren. Wenn ein fünfzigjähriger Braungurt der siebzig Kilo wiegt, sich gut gegen einen zwanzigjährigen Blaugurt  mit hundert Kilo verteidigen kann, ist das eine gute Indikation für ein hohes technisches Niveau. Also gilt bei uns "Leave your ego at the door." Klickt auf das Fragezeichen oben um die Antwort direkt von der Quelle - Helio Gracie selbst - zu erhalten. Einfach die Unertitel einschalten.

AGB

Gibt es bei der Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen (AGB)?

Ja, die AGB sind Bestandteil des Mitgliedervertrags und werden in der Academy angeschlagen. Ebenfalls sind die AGB online erhältlich oder, auf Verlangen, auch in Papierform.

(Klick auf das Fragezeichen oben um Details zu sehen)

Inh.: Daniel Lehmann, Limmattalstrasse 342, 8049 Zürich, Schweiz

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Youtube

©2020 Jiu-Jitsu Academy Zuerich

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now